Music Series Yoonie Han1200px

Advance ticket purchase required
For tickets call (561) 655-2833 or purchase online below.
$70 per concert
Complimentary Valet Parking

The Flagler name has long been associated with great music. Henry and Mary Lily Flagler frequently hosted musical performances in Whitehall's elaborate Music Room furnished with a 1,249 pipe J.H. & C.S. Odell & Co. organ and a Steinway upright grand piano. Flagler's son, Henry Harkness Flagler, was chairman of the New York Philharmonic Society. One of Flagler's granddaughters, Jean Flagler Matthews, founded the Flagler Museum, restored Whitehall's elaborate Odell organ and in 1969 brought the New York Philharmonic, conducted by Leonard Bernstein, to South Florida for a Museum benefit concert. Another of Flagler's granddaughters, Mary Flagler Cary, amassed a large collection of original music manuscripts now at the Morgan Library.

The association between the Flagler name and great music continues today in the form of the Flagler Museum Music Series, making it possible to experience chamber music, as it was intended, in the gracious and intimate setting of the Museum's West Room. Regularly featured on National Public Radio, the Flagler Museum Music Series features acclaimed musicians performing music composed prior to 1930 in what critics have described as the finest chamber music venue in South Florida. Audience members are treated to a rare opportunity to meet performers during a champagne & dessert reception following each concert.

The 2017 Series includes concerts by: Dover Quartet (January 10th), Telegraph String Quartet (January 24th), Jolente De Maeyer & Nikolaas Kende (February 7th), Trio Celeste (February 21st), St. Petersburg Piano Quartet (March 7th).

Dover Quartet

Dover QuartetRGB72

January 10, 2017
7:30 p.m.

The Dover Quartet was formed in 2008 at the Curtis Institute of Music, and continued their studies as Graduate Quartet-in-Residence at Rice University's Shepherd School of Music from 2011-13. The Quartet catapulted to international stardom following a stunning sweep of the 2013 Banff International String Quartet Competition, becoming one of the most in-demand ensembles in the world.  In 2013-14, the Quartet was the first ever Quartet-in-Residence for the venerated Curtis Institute of Music, and is now faculty Quartet-in-Residence at Northwestern University's Bienen School of Music.

“...the young American string quartet of the moment,”
- The New Yorker

“[the Quartet] is already pulling away from their peers with their exceptional interpretive maturity, tonal refinement and taut ensemble.”
- The Strad

Telegraph String Quartet

Telegraph String Quartet

January 24, 2017
7:30 p.m.

The Telegraph Quartet was formed in September 2013 with a commitment to a passionate approach to the standard chamber music repertoire as well as contemporary and non-standard repertoire, alike. Described alternately as “intensely urgent” and “poignantly resonant”, the Telegraph Quartet received the prestigious Grand Prize of the 2014 Fischoff Chamber Music Competition and has gone on to perform in concert halls, music festivals, and academic institutions across the United States, from Santa Barbara to New York.

The members of the quartet are graduates of top conservatories and universities including The Juilliard School, The Cleveland Institute of Music, Rice University and San Francisco Conservatory of Music. The Telegraph Quartet is based in the San Francisco Bay Area. 

Trio Celeste

trio celeste

February 21, 2017
7:30 p.m.

Hailed as “a first-class ensemble” (Orange County Register) “exuberant and technically dazzling” (Long Beach Gazette) and “one of the best young chamber groups around today” (Philip Setzer, Emerson String Quartet), Trio Céleste has quickly established itself as one of the most dynamic chamber music ensembles in the country.

Winners of the prestigious Beverly Hills Auditions in Los Angeles, Trio Céleste is currently Ensemble-in-Residence at the Claire Trevor School of the Arts at the University of California, Irvine where they recently presented the complete piano trio works of Ludwig van Beethoven and the Triple Concerto with the UC Irvine Symphony Orchestra and the Capistrano Conductor’s Institute Orchestra. In 2013, the ensemble along with violist Michelle Gasworth, were selected from over five hundred applicants to be Artists-in-Residence at the Grand Canyon National Park where the group concertized and presented master classes throughout the South Rim.

St. Petersburg Piano Quartet

St Petersberg Piano Quartet

March 7, 2017
7:30 p.m.

The St. Petersburg Piano Quartet is one of the world’s most esteemed chamber ensembles. Their rise to fame has included a Grammy nomination, “Best Record” honors in both Stereo Review and Gramophone, an opening night performance at Mostly Mozart at Lincoln Center, a five-year residency at the Oberlin Conservatory of Music, and hundreds of concerts on many of North America, Europe and Asia’s most prestigious series and festivals.



 Sponsored by:

Roe Green text logo

         PB-Cultural-Council-GrantRequired-Logo                pbdn Web_000                 PB-County-CircleLogo Gray72              WilliamRKenanJrCharitableTr              TDC-Logo-Black-Oct-2015